HAZOP

Technological hazard analysis: HAZOP

The HAZOP (HAZard and OPerability) review is a method which is now central to safety analyses in process industries such as the chemical or petroleum industry. It is particularly suited to the examination of systems for which control over operating conditions (settings such as flow rate, pressure, temperature, level, concentration, etc.) is particularly important for the safety of the installation.

The crux of the method is a systematic analysis of the possibility of deviations or discrepancies in the process settings, and the consequences thereof. Potential deviations are generated by the conjunction of key words which characterise a situation that differs from normal operation (such as “more”, “less”, etc.) and the operating parameters of the process.

By its very nature, this method requires a support that transposes the workings of the process. This support is the Piping and Instrumentation Diagram (P&ID or PID).

HAZOP reviews are conducted by working party led by a chairperson. It is made up of specialists capable of identifying the causes and consequences of deviations, and assessing whether the means of prevention/protection are adequate.

 
English

Analyse des risques technologiques : HAZOP

La revue de sécurité HAZOP (HAZard and OPerability review) est une méthode qui aujourd’hui tient une place centrale dans l’analyse de la sécurité des industries de process, comme l’industrie chimique ou l’industrie pétrolière. Elle est particulièrement adaptée à l’examen de systèmes pour lesquels la maitrise des conditions opératoires (paramètres tels que débit, pression, température, niveau, concentration…) est particulièrement importante pour la sécurité de l’installation.

Le cœur de la méthode est une analyse systématique de la possibilité et des conséquences d’une dérive (ou déviations) des paramètres du procédé. La génération des dérives potentielles est effectuée par la conjonction de mots-clé qui caractérisent une situation différente de la situation normale opératoire (comme « plus de », « moins de », …) et les paramètres opératoires du procédé.

Par sa nature, cette méthode nécessite un support qui transpose le fonctionnement du procédé. Ce sont les plans de circulation des fluides ou schémas PID (Piping and Instrumentation Diagram).

Ces revues sont réalisées en groupe de travail. Ce groupe est animé par un chairman. Il est composé de spécialistes capables d’identifier les causes, les conséquences des dérives, et d’évaluer si les moyens de prévention/protection sont suffisants.

 
Français